Lessons from money

BY RUTH BLESSING KOBUSINGE

money-jars_full_600

How time flies! I have been working for about 9 months now, and it seems like it was just yesterday when I was given a one year contract to give operational and administrative support to a nutrition research project. As I reflected on the past close to 11 months, I realised that I have actually drawn a number of lessons related to finances that have become a great influence in my life.

I have realized that money is money, just that. No matter the amount. I would say Shs300,000= is the same as Shs3,000,000=. What makes the difference is one’s mindset. If the mind is set on spending, not investing, spending 300,000= is as easy as spending Shs3,000,000=.

This has motivated me not to move from job to job in search of a higher salary, but rather to work on my financial intelligence and management so I can make the best of my money.

Money cannot make you happy

I am bursting someone’s bubble here-the one that has been looking forward to finishing school and earning a six or seven figure salary. Honestly, I say it with confidence that money cannot make one happy, and for that matter, material things cannot make you happy. Real and true happiness comes from those things that are not at all tangible-the moments shared with friends and family, the smile put on a child’s face by a kind act, a coin given to a charity name it.

True joy and happiness comes from God. Are you looking for true joy, peace and happiness, ‘Try Jesus.’

Money is not all

Work comes with a lot of rewards aside from the reward of money.  I have learnt to look out for the priceless friendships built, the new skills learnt, the talents discovered, and the challenges that unearthed a virtue, the opportunity to serve and make a difference among many others-those that are coming to your mind.

Like I earlier said, money cannot make you happy, and focusing on it as the only reward can be pretty depressing. Focus on the numerous other rewards, you will be more than grateful for the gift of service.

The power of saving

I have realized that no matter how little the money may be, consistent and diligent saving yields results. I have tried a saving’s account, a SACCO account, even a piggy bank (at my age). It is more than worth it when after a given time, you check those savings and they have grown to an amount you least anticipated.

Give, give  and give

Last but most important, give, give and give. And when you have given, again, give. For me, this has been one of the most rewarding way of utilizing money. Seeing a smile on ones face because of the blessing of giving. No need to overestimate, it does not have to be much, give from the heart. Give to friends and family, to church, to charity. Give whenever opportunity arises, there in is a blessing.

Give, and it will be given to you. A good measure, pressed down, shaken together and running over, will be poured into your lap. For with the measure you use, it will be measured to you.” Luke 6:38

Leave a Reply

