From selling jack fruit to treating people with the same

Musiime Francis displaying some of his produce

By Alex Taremwa

It was a misconception within the society he grew up that whoever planted a jack fruit tree would instantly die. However, this myth was proved otherwise in 1984 while on a trip to Soroti when along the Masaka-Kampala road, Musiime Francis saw as many jack fruit trees than he could have possibly imagined.

“I said to myself: if everyone who planted these was dead, then the country should be utmost scarcely occupied,” he narrated. And when I returned from Soroti, I planted as many jack fruits on my father’s land as I could that later went on to be my first source of income.

Background:

Musiime Kyereta Francis was born on the 11th of October way back in 1963 in Nyarubungo currently Bukiiro in Kashari, Mbarara district. Due to the pastoral nature of his family, they shifted from Kashari to Rwemamba, Kitura in Kiruhura district because their previous home had been infringed on mostly by cultivators making the pastures insufficient to sustain animal life.

While in primary school, Francis would vend his fruits across markets so he could generate and support his family with a little income. He expanded his jack fruit garden slowly but steadily to the extent that from it he was able to generate a portion of his school fees throughout secondary school, at the teachers’ college and later at LDC.

“Growing up I always wanted to be a lawyer and that explains why I went to LDC and even now if it wasn’t for less finances, I would have liked all my children to study laws. My first son is already a graduate in LLB,” he said.

From this garden, Francis has seen two of his Sons complete studies at university one graduating in Laws and the other in Education respectively. As if that is not enough, he is also paying for his wife’s tuition who also is a semester away from graduation.

Notable is that in 1994, Francis was able from his jack fruit to get dowry required of him to get married to a wife with whom he has 8 children 5 of which are males and 3 females.

Education:

Francis attended Kitura Primary School before joining Ibanda Secondary School for both his O&A levels. He later joined Ibanda Teachers College from where he connected to the Law Development College (LDC) at Makerere for a certificate in laws.

Breakthrough:

It all started in his earlier stages of life when Francis suffered from a digestive problem that brought him a constipation of sorts.

After eating some jack fruit,” I felt an ease in my stomach and I was able to discharge human wastes normally.”

After his magical healing, Francis set out to research more on the jack fruit and its benefits beyond just sales and income generation.

With references to several articles in over the internet, he discovered that there was more in jack fruit than what he had possibly thought both in the fresh and the seeds which mostly ignored as useless and Francis went an extra mile to buy jack fruit from other suppliers with an aim to get the seeds that he referred to as the magical element about the entire plant though the rest of the parts including the stem and the roots play different important purposes if utilized.

Since 2012, he has been producing the jack-fruit seed flour on a small scale and apparently, he has set up a sales point in Mbarara where he currently lives and operates.

Musiime Francis and his family at his current workshop in Mbarara (Photo by Alex Taremwa)

Musiime Francis and his family at his current workshop in Mbarara (Photo by Alex Taremwa)

How he makes the product:

Still using the rudimentally approach, Francis explains the step by step methods through which he attains the flour that he sells to the public starting after he gathers the seeds.

  • Wash the seeds
  • Dry them either by sun or fire until they peel of the first layer. What you have left is a reddish seed.
  • Pound the seed to release the sticky starchy substance (known in Luganda as amasanda) and then spread the pounded substance on either a mat or another flat surface to dry again. At this point, you may repeat the pounding to make the substance finer and easy to dry.
  • Then lastly, take the dry substance the grinding machine and get flour.

Benefits of the flour on one’s health:

According to a health website in India where the fruit is widely grown and consumed, jack fruit seeds have a chunk of benefits it can bring to your health.

  • Fights wrinkles: Take a seed of jack fruit and keep it dipped in cold milk for a while. Grind it well and apply softly on your wrinkles. It is believed to work on wrinkles in just about four-five weeks’ time. Apply regularly for best results.
  • Helps get a glowing complexion: Jack fruit seeds can be consumed directly. It helps prevent constipation as it is high on fiber content. This in turn helps clear constipation. A detoxified system is the first and foremost thing for a glowing complexion.
  • Flawless skin: Jack fruit seed is used to get a flawless skin. You just need to soak the dry seed with some milk and honey and grind it into a fine paste. Now apply this paste on your face evenly and let it dry completely. Wash it off to get a flawless skin within minutes.
  • Not only that: Jack fruit seeds have a very high nutrient value. They are even used for treating a number of ailments.
  • High in protein: Jack fruit seeds are high in protein. You can consume the seeds by adding them to different dishes that you cook. It can replace lentils in your daily diet.
  • Anti-cancer nutrients: Jack fruit seeds have a lot of phytonutrients that help fight cancer.
  • Comfort from indigestion: The powdered jack fruit seeds can help get instant relief from indigestion. You may sun-dry jack fruit seeds and then grind it to get powder or use the one available in the market.
  • Jack fruit seeds have been proved beneficial for hair as well. They promote good hair health through promoting hair growth.
  • Jack fruit seeds promote healthy blood circulation. Now proper blood circulation is extremely important for good hair growth. Hence it promotes hair growth.
  • Vitamin A: Jack fruit seeds are high on vitamin A, which is the one of the most important vitamins for hair health as it prevents dry and brittle hair.
  • Healthy digestion: Once again, healthy digestion is important for good hair. If your digestive system has a problem, it may affect your liver which in turn may give rise to hair fall. Jackfruit seeds promote healthy digestion and hence keep your liver and your hair fall under check.

Price & Usage:

“I apparently still pack locally in the polythene bags but with time, I want to standardize the packaging but first the public need to learn these benefits so market can expand,” Francis said.

The product in the state of flour can be mixed in water, licked or mixed with sauce depending on the purpose one wants it to play.

Speaking on the price, a kilogram of jackfruit flour at Francis’ costs Ushs5, 000 although he argues that it should have been 3 times more on his current door-door delivery model.

Future Prospects:

In the future, Francis wishes to make his product accessible country-wide and worldwide.

“My ambition first is to get this information out for people especially those who can’t access internet services to access, understand and make use of and then start up my own production company handling this same innovation.”

He calls upon the elite to continuously make known such information to help people understand the relevance of natural medicines as he echoes to Government to come in and support his Endeavor.

102 thoughts on “From selling jack fruit to treating people with the same

  1. Hello! Ive been following your blog for a while now and finally got the courage to go ahead and give you a shout out from Kingwood Texas! Just wanted to mention maintain up the very good function!

    Like

  2. Im not sure where you’re getting your info, but great topic. I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more. Thanks for excellent information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    Like

  3. I have figured out some essential things through your blog post post. One other thing I would like to mention is that there are various games available on the market designed specially for preschool age young children. They consist of pattern acceptance, colors, wildlife, and models. These normally focus on familiarization as opposed to memorization. This makes children and kids engaged without sensing like they are learning. Thanks

    Like

  4. I’m normally to blogging and i in fact appreciate your content regularly. The content has actually peaks my interest. My goal is to bookmark your web weblog and keep checking for initial time information.

    Like

  5. This really is a very good topic to speak about. Sometimes I fav stuff like this on Redit. I dont believe this would be the best to submit though. Ill take a look around your site though and submit something else.

    Like

  6. I’m impressed, I need to say. quite seldom do I stumble upon a blog thats both educational and entertaining, and let me let you know, youve hit the nail on the head. Your post is important; the matter is something that not several of us are speaking intelligently regarding. im quite happy that I stumbled across this in my explore for one thing relating to it.

    Like

  7. Thank you so much for giving my family an update on this problem on your web-site. Please realise that if a brand new post appears or if maybe any adjustments occur towards the current post, I would be interested in reading a great deal much more and focusing on how to make excellent use of those strategies you reveal. Thanks for your efforts and consideration of other men and women by generating this web internet site available.

    Like

  8. I like what you guys are up too. Such smart work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my web site :).

    Like

  9. Thank you for the sensible critique. Me and my neighbor were just preparing to do some research on this. We got a grab a book from our region library but I feel I learned much more clear from this post. Im very glad to see such superb information being shared freely out there.

    Like

  10. Have you ever thought about creating an e-book or guest authoring on other websites? I have a weblog based upon on the same subjects you discuss and would love to have you share some stories/information. I know my visitors would value your work. Should you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

    Like

  11. Generally I do not learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

    Like

  12. Nice post. I be taught one thing a lot more challenging on totally different blogs everyday. It will all the time be stimulating to learn content from other writers and apply slightly 1 thing from their store. Id desire to use some with the content material on my blog whether you dont mind. Natually Ill give you a hyperlink on your net weblog. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  13. Great goods from you, man. Ive recognize your stuff previous to and that you are just too fantastic. I truly like what you’ve acquired here, surely like what you are saying and the way in which you say it. You make it entertaining and you nonetheless care for to maintain it wise. I cant wait to read far more from you. This is actually a terrific internet site.

    Like

  14. Good post. I discover something a lot harder on different blogs everyday. It will always be stimulating to read content material using their company writers and practice a bit something from their website. Id opt to use some with the content material on my own blog whether or not you dont mind. Natually Ill offer you a link on your internet weblog. Thank you for sharing.

    Like

  15. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your weblog and in accession capital to assert that I get truly enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will probably be subscribing to your augment and even I achievement you access consistently quickly.

    Like

  16. Hey! I could have sworn I’ve been to this site before but after checking through some of the post I realized it’s new to me.

    Anyways, I’m definitely glad I found it and I’ll be book-marking and checking
    back frequently!

    Like

  17. Hi. Thank you for making this site. I m working on betting online niche and have located this website using search on bing. Will likely be sure to look a lot more of your content material. Gracias, see ya. :S

    Like

  18. Howdy! This article couldn’t be written any better!
    Going through this article reminds me of my previous roommate!

    He always kept talking about this. I most certainly will forward this information to him.
    Fairly certain he will have a very good read.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  19. Thanks a lot for your intriguing write-up. I’ve been searching for such message for a really long time. Not all your content material is completely clear to me, even though it is undoubtedly fascinating and worth reading.

    Like

  20. I feel that is among the so a lot significant information for me. And i am pleased studying your post. But should observation on some normal issues, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is really great. Outstanding activity, cheers.

    Like

  21. I used to be very pleased to search out this web-site.I needed to thanks to your time for this wonderful learn!! I definitely enjoying every little little bit of it and I’ve you bookmarked to take a look at new stuff you blog post.

    Like

  22. of course like your web site however you have to take a look at the spelling on
    quite a few of your posts. A number of them are rife with spelling issues
    and I in finding it very troublesome to inform the truth however I will surely come
    again again.

    Like

  23. I’d like to thank you for the efforts you have put in
    writing this website. I really hope to view the same high-grade blog posts from you
    in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has encouraged me
    to get my very own blog now 😉

    Like

  24. You can find some fascinating points over time in this posting but I dont determine if I see these people center to heart. There is undoubtedly some validity but I will take hold opinion until I look into it further. Great post, thanks and that we want a whole lot much more! Put into FeedBurner also

    Like

  25. I beloved as a lot as you may receive carried out appropriate here. The comic strip is attractive, your authored topic matter stylish. nevertheless, you command get got an shakiness more than which you would like be delivering the following. unwell undoubtedly come further beforehand once a lot more since precisely the related practically a whole lot steadily within case you protect this hike.

    Like

  26. Largest lover messages were made to share it together with your and gives honour of the bride and groom. Extremely sound systems facing unnecessary throngs of individuals should take into account each of our valuable concept of all presenting, which is ones trailer. finest man toasts

    Like

  27. Pingback: sexy girls

  28. Do you have a spam issue on this website; I also am a blogger, and I was wanting to know your situation; many of us have
    created some nice procedures and we are looking to trade strategies with other folks, be sure to shoot me an e-mail if
    interested.

    Like

  29. Pingback: Google

  30. Pingback: php scripte

  31. Pingback: paintless dent removal training

  32. Pingback: japan shopping

  33. Pingback: Weight loss

  34. Pingback: game

  35. Pingback: download counter strike

  36. Excellent article. Keep writing such kind of information on your site.

    Im really impressed by your blog.
    Hi there, You have performed a fantastic job.
    I will definitely digg it and individually recommend
    to my friends. I’m sure they will be benefited from this
    site.

    Like

  37. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own blog
    and was curious what all is needed to get setup?
    I’m assuming having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks

    Like

  38. Fantastic website you have here but I was curious if you knew of any message boards that cover the same topics discussed here?

    I’d really like to be a part of online community where
    I can get responses from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.
    If you have any recommendations, please let me
    know. Thanks a lot!

    Like

Leave a Reply

