Kampala as we know it.

Copy (2) of KampalaStreet1
As a Ugandan, there are many things to be proud of or if I might say, things to brag about. Among these are; the Beauty of the Country from which we earned the pride to be The Pearl of Africa as earlier referred to by the then most feared and arrogant British Premier Sir Winston Churchill in 1907 mainly because of the beauty of the stunning green valleys, vast lakes, tall hills, the altitude that made sure we keep a cooler temperature than any other country on the zero degrees imaginary line named Equator , the weather, the homogeneous nature of people, the colour of our skins, the topography and among other things our city Kampala.
Uganda; my motherland is celebrating 50 years of Independent and self rule. This is an identical element that has promoted inter- territorial/racial trade amongst the people of the world making Uganda and most significantly Kampala city the most administrative, urbanized and developed city of the country. Given my position, let me give first a preamble about the Capital before I get into the technicalities.
Copy of kampala-0003
PREAMBLE: It’s not only a city but also a District which covers a surface area of 73 square kilometers that’s approximately about 189 sq kms where 13 of these are covered by water. It harbours a population of about 1, 659,600 people according to a 2011 estimate; Government couldn’t find enough funds to conduct a population census this year. Among these include the Businessmen, Politicians, Boba-Boda cyclists, quasi entrepreneurs, real estate managers, intellects, cooperates, unemployed graduates walking down the streets, tourists artists, hawkers and musicians who are loved American rap rhymes even know they don’t understand one line, street kids and other people that you know better if you have been to Kampala. You simply can’t tell who does what because no one has time for the other if no business or transaction is being carried on.
Being the Country’s Central Business District, plenty of business is carried on from early morning to wee hours of the next morning with enterprises ranging less than Ushs. 100,000 for example young men vending chewing gum to multimillion dollar entities like MTN, Kampala Serena and other good housing estates like Mapeera House. From multi-million markets like St. Balikuddembe market locally known as Owino Market to recreation and hanging out venues like Club Silk, Ange noir, Theater Labonita and Garden City Shopping center. Kampala currently going through a massive transformation and the person responsible for bring it about is a one of a kind woman The Executive Director of the current Kampala City’s governing body Kampala Capital City Authority (KCCA) Madam Jenifer Musisi who is under media criticism due to her so called draconian policies to deprive common citizens of their livelihood through over taxation and day to day evictions from within the city premises. Popular Artists like the self proclaimed Ghetto President Bobi Wine, DJ Michael and others have all recorded songs criticizing E.D Musisi’s actions seemingly concurring with The Lord Mayor Elias Lukwago’s popularity agenda who till today has never agreed with Musisi’s Agenda since his election early last year.

ADMINISTRATION: The City of Kampala is divided into five major principalities each headed by a popularly elected mayor which comprise of Nakawa Division headed by Mayor Benjamin Ssebuliba Kalumba, Makidye Division headed by Dr. Ian Clarke, Kampala Central Division under Hon. Godfrey Nyakana, Lubaga and Kawempe Divisions under the Mayor ship of Hon. Joyce Ssebugwawo and Hon. Mubarak Mugwanya respectively in them include the incorporation of the city’s neighboring suburbs which consist of Katwe, Bwaise, Kibuli, Ntinda, Kiwaatule, Kyambogo, Luzira among many others. The expansion of the city was done in 2001 which saw the substantial expansion of the city’s limits.
In 2010, the KCCA Act changed the Management structure of Kampala City which saw the creation of the Office of the Executive Director who is charged with the executive functions of managing Kampala City. KCCA has an obligation to provide services in the city that enable residents and businesses in the city have a conducive and comfortable environment that promotes development. The Authority is composed of the following members;
a) The Lord Mayor
b) The Deputy Lord Mayor
c) One councilor elected by secret ballot to represent each electoral area in the Capital city on the basis of Universal adult suffrage
d) 2 councilors representing the you one of whom shall be female
e) 2 councilors with disabilities representing people with disabilities one of whom shall also be female
f) Women councilors forming one third of the Authority such that the councilors elected under paragraphs (c) and (d) and (e)shall form two thirds of the Authority
g) One councilor representing each of these professional companies;
 Uganda Institute of Professional Engineers
 Uganda Society of Architects
 Uganda Medical Association
 Uganda Law Society
It should however be noted that that the politics of Kampala don’t begin or end with KCCA. Other Authorities have been in place that included Kampala City Council that managed Kampala City both in the tenure of Democratic Party politicians El Hajji Nasser Ntege Ssebaggala and his counterpart Hon. Ssebaana Kizito. You must be wondering if that marks the start of politics of Kampala City but well that’s where my knowledge stops. If you want to know about the history of Kampala, here it comes.

The Historical Kampala:
Given the then topography of Kampala that was a composition of wetlands and valleys, it was a good natural habitat of different animal species particularly the antelope or Impala which explained the reason as to why Mutesa I the then Kabaka of Buganda had chosen the area as his favourite hunting ground. With the coming of the British, they named one of the hills “the hill of the impala” which was directly translated to Luganda by the Baganda natives as “akasozi k’empala” so with time K’empala became Kampala. The city developed to became the capital of Buganda Kingdom with buildings such as The Kasubi Tombs built in 1881, the Lubiri palace, the Buganda Kingdom among other buildings. Severe damage faced the city during and after the Uganda – Tanzania war but new developments including modern housing facilities such as hotels, banking halls.
Traditionally Kampala was a city of seven hills but over time, it has come to have a lot more. The Traditional seven hills of Kampala included;
– Kasubi hills of the Kasubi tombs where the Previous Kabakas were buried.
– Mengo hill where the present Lubiri (kabaka’s palace) is, the headquarters of the Buganda Court of Justice and the Lukiiko of Buganda’s Parliament.
– Kibuli hill; the home of Islam. It should be remembered that Islam was brought to Uganda before Christianity
– Namirembe hill; the home of the Anglican Cathedral and the Lubaga hill where the Catholic cathedral is located.
– The Nsambya Hill where Nsambya Hospital is located.
– The Last hill is The Old Kampala formerly referred to as the hill of the impala where Kampala got its name and currently the home of Uganda Muslim Supreme Council.
Other hills to which the city spread included the Nakasero Hill, the Mulago Hill, Tank Hill, Kololo hill. The topography and the altitude of the city altogether constitute to make Kampala a muddy, congested, bushy and flowerless city that posses the challenges that KCCA is fighting to overcome even as we speak.

70 thoughts on “Kampala as we know it.

  1. Pingback: DLF Garden City in the perfect home in Indore | ABCINFOPAGES.COM

  2. Hello. Fantastically cool blog!! Man .. Excellent .. Superb .. I will bookmark your web place and acquire the feeds also…I’m happy to attain abundant of use information here surrounded by the post. Merit for sharing.

    Like

  3. I must show some thanks to you just for bailing me out of this particular scenario. Because of surfing around through the world wide web and getting principles which were not pleasant, I was thinking my entire life was well over. Being alive minus the strategies to the problems you have sorted out as a result of this posting is a serious case, as well as the ones which could have negatively damaged my entire career if I hadn’t noticed the website. Your knowledge and kindness in dealing with a lot of things was important. I am not sure what I would have done if I hadn’t come across such a step like this. I can at this time relish my future. Thanks for your time so much for the reliable and sensible guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your web site to anyone who should get assistance on this subject matter.

    Like

  4. I am also commenting to let you understand of the fantastic encounter my wife’s child enjoyed checking your web page. She came to understand lots of things, most notably what it is like to possess an incredible coaching spirit to let folks without difficulty completely grasp some problematic issues. You truly exceeded our expectations. Thanks for supplying the warm and friendly, safe, explanatory and even easy tips on this topic to Ethel.

    Like

  5. Im not sure where youre acquiring your info, but excellent subject. I needs to spend some time learning a lot far more or understanding much more. Thanks for superb information I was looking for this info for my mission. xrumer

    Like

  6. I am often to blogging and i actually recognize your content. The article has actually peaks my interest. I am going to bookmark your web site and maintain checking for brand spanking new information.

    Like

  7. Can I just say what a relief to uncover somebody who truly is aware of what theyre talking about on the internet. You undoubtedly know the way to bring an problem to mild and make it important. Extra folks need to read this and perceive this aspect of the story. I cant consider youre not far more popular since you positively have the gift.

    Like

  8. I’ll immediately grasp your rss feed as I can not in finding your e-mail subscription hyperlink or e-newsletter service. Do you have any? Please allow me recognise in order that I may subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  9. Hey! I know this is kinda off topic even so, Id figured Id ask. Would you be interested in exchanging links or perhaps guest writing a blog post or vice-versa? My weblog covers a lot of the same topics as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit from each other. In case you are interested feel totally free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you! Superb blog by the way!

    Like

  10. Thanks for the useful information on credit repair on this blog. The things i would offer as advice to people should be to give up the mentality they can buy at this point and pay later. As a society many of us tend to try this for many issues. This includes family vacations, furniture, and items we really want to have. However, you should separate your own wants from the needs. While you’re working to fix your credit score actually you need some sacrifices. For example it is possible to shop online to save cash or you can check out second hand shops instead of highly-priced department stores to get clothing.

    Like

  11. Normally I do not learn article on blogs, but I would like to say that this write-up very pressured me to check out and do so! Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thanks, very nice article.

    Like

  12. Thanks for your strategies. One thing we have noticed is the fact that banks and financial institutions know the spending practices of consumers and also understand that most people max outside their real credit cards around the holidays. They properly take advantage of this kind of fact and begin flooding ones inbox in addition to snail-mail box together with hundreds of 0 APR credit card offers immediately after the holiday season concludes. Knowing that in case you are like 98 in the American community, you’ll soar at the one opportunity to consolidate consumer credit card debt and move balances to 0 APR credit cards.

    Like

  13. I’m not confident should you mean which you want to write a weblog but dont want the templates that come supplied with places like Doodlekit or in the event you mean you would like to use the content material from yet another weblog – not written by you – in your web internet site.

    Like

  14. Today, with all the fast life style that everyone is having, credit cards have a big demand throughout the market. Persons from every field are using credit card and people who not using the credit card have made arrangements to apply for 1. Thanks for giving your ideas about credit cards.

    Like

  15. Good post. I previousally to spend alot of my time water skiing and watching sports. It was quite possible the top sequence of my past and your content material kind of reminded me of that period of my life. Cheers

    Like

  16. Pretty section of content. I just stumbled upon your blog and in accession capital to assert that I get in fact enjoyed account your blog posts. Any way I will be subscribing to your feeds and even I achievement you access consistently rapidly.

    Like

  17. A person essentially assist to make severely articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your website page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this particular submit amazing. Excellent job!

    Like

  18. Itѕ such as you гead my thoughts! You seem to grasp
    a lot aрproximately this, such as you wrote the e bookk in iit οr sоmething.

    I think that you just could do wiith some % to
    drіve the message house a little bit, howevеr instead
    of that, that is excellent blog. A fantastic read.

    I will certainly be back.

    Like

  19. Hiya, I am really glad I’ve found this information. Today bloggers publish just about gossips and net and this is really frustrating. A good site with exciting content, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this web site, I will be visiting it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

    Like

  20. Can I just now say what relief to discover someone who truly knows what theyre dealing with on-line. You surely discover how to bring a difficulty to light to make it critical. The very best method to need to have to check this out and see why side with the story. I cant believe youre less popular since you also absolutely hold the gift.

    Like

  21. We would like to thank you just as before for the gorgeous concepts you offered Janet when preparing her post-graduate research as properly as, most importantly, pertaining to providing each with the concepts in a blog post. Provided that we had been aware of your website a year ago, wed have been saved the unnecessary measures we were having to take. Thank you really considerably.

    Like

  22. The wedding will likely to be the most remarkable festivals which you saw. You are going to surely intend to make it magnificent as it can be. Out of your ensemble for your particular flower bouquets to the wine beverages for top mankinds destroyed, everthing actually really should with fabulous organize.

    Like

  23. After study a handful with the websites on your personal internet website now, and that i genuinely like your technique for blogging. I bookmarked it to my bookmark internet site list and you may be checking back soon. Pls have a look at my internet page too and told me what you believe.

    Like

  24. There is an ending. Just remember that I meant for this to be an art game. I do feel like I spent an inordinate amount of time on the a lot more traditional gameplay elements, which might make the meaning with the game a bit unclear. If you mess around with it though, youll locate it.

    Like

  25. Thanks a lot for sharing this with all folks you actually understand what you are speaking about! Bookmarked. Kindly additionally seek advice from my website =). We could have a link exchange arrangement between us!

    Like

  26. Nice post. I was checking continuously this blog and I’m impressed! Very useful info specifically the last part 🙂 I care for such information a lot. I was seeking this particular information for a very long time. Thank you and best of luck.

    Like

  27. I would like to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I am hoping the same high-grade blog post from you in the upcoming as well. Actually your creative writing abilities has encouraged me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your write up is a good example of it.

    Like

  28. Id also like to say that most of those that locate themselves with out health insurance can be students, self-employed and folks who are jobless. A lot more than half from the uninsured are truly under the age of Thirty-five. They do not come to feel they’re needing health insurance since they are young in addition to healthy. Their certain income is typically spent on houses, food, and entertainment. Many people that do go to function either full or not professional are not created available insurance by their jobs so they move without with the rising cost of health insurance within the usa. Thanks for the suggestions you write about by means of this web site.

    Like

  29. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, wonderful blog!

    Like

  30. Hi there! I could have sworn Ive been to this web site before but after reading through some of the post I realized it is new to me. Anyhow, Im surely glad I identified it and Ill be book-marking and checking back often!

    Like

  31. But a smiling visitor here to share the love (:, btw outstanding style and design. “Better by far you should forget and smile than that you should remember and be sad.” by Christina Georgina Rossetti.

    Like

  32. Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive learn something like this before. So great to locate somebody with some distinctive suggestions on this subject. realy thank you for beginning this up. this internet site is something that is necessary on the net, somebody with somewhat originality. useful job for bringing something new to the internet!

    Like

  33. Im pleased! Seriously beneficial weblog post correct here my buddie. I just desired to comment & say keep up the outstanding function. Ive bookmarked your site proper now and Ill come back to read much more soon my friend! Moreover nice designs on the page layout, its genuinely simple for the eye.

    Like

  34. I like what you guys are up too. Such intelligent work and reporting! Keep up the excellent works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to my blogroll. I think it’ll improve the value of my web site :).

    Like

  35. I thought it was heading to become some dull previous publish, nonetheless it truly compensated for my time. Ill publish a hyperlink to this internet page on my blog. I’m positive my visitors will uncover that really beneficial.

    Like

  36. What I have seen in terms of computer memory is that there are features such as SDRAM, DDR and the like, that must match up the features of the mother board. If the computer’s motherboard is rather current and there are no operating-system issues, replacing the memory space literally normally requires under one hour. It’s on the list of easiest computer upgrade types of procedures one can consider. Thanks for spreading your ideas.

    Like

Leave a Reply

