Katonga Wildlife Reserve: The Untold Escapades

By Alex Keillah Taremwa

Before I let the cat out of the bag, allow me give an insight of the wildlife area from where I draw my argument. Katonga Wildlife Reserve is a wildlife reserve in western Uganda, along the banks of River Katonga. The Reserve was established in 1998. It measures approximately 211 square kilometres (81 sq mi). Many of the species of plants and animals in the reserve are unique to the reserve’s wetland environment. The wildlife reserve is named after Katonga River, which flows from Lake Victoria in the east to Lake George in the west. located in the districts of Ibanda and Kamwenge in western Uganda, along the banks of the Katonga River. In kamwenge, it borders with Biguli subcounty and part of Mpara subcounty in Kyenjojo district. The location is approximately 200 kilometres (120 mi), by road, west of Kampala, Uganda‘s capital city. The coordinates of the wildlife reserve are:00 02N, 30 25E.

A map of the Geographical location of Katonga Wildlife Reserve

 

Last week something strange happened,  2 buffaloes from this area got out of sight of the game rangers for 72 hours. In all these days, these animals just like the rest of them had been invading the farms and plantations of the neighbouring largely agrarian aristocrats who are largely comprised of Bahima, Bakiga and Banyankole, Batoro and Banyoro people. After 3 days of massive damages of not only their Potato among other subsistence that had consistently been affected by hailstorms in the Government’s watch but also public outcry for help but with no success, the desperate and hopeless mob decided to arm themselves with spears and other peasantry arms to hunt the innocent animals down and killed them. They not only killed them but these largely poor, desperate and uneducated majorities went ahead to slaughter and eat them too claiming they were tired of the constant attack of these always on rampage animals. Later in about 3 hours, a Wildlife Authority Van appeared transporting armed game rangers who claimed to have been on the search for these animals but couldn’t locate them or alternatively track them down.

The mob reaction:

On seeing these people, a considerate number of the mob scattered but the few brave ones stayed to discuss the possible solutions and present their grievances to these people. To notice, not only had the animals destroyed the gardens of these people once but this was almost the 7th and the most destructive time since the animals left at least 4 people bed ridden and one of them without the right ear. After minutes  of tentative listening, a UWA officer whose name I won’t mention for purposes of anonymity remarked ” If you hadn’t these animals, you’d be stupid”. This made me develop a metality to launch an inquiry into the possible causes of the constant animal invasion on the people’s property even when they’ve square km of virgin lands.

Corruption: First, there are high levels of corruption and bribery amongst the game officials. Since the area is generally surrounded by largely Bahima Aristocrats who posses large numbers of cattle herds, they seemingly run out of pasture so soon and they resort to grazing the pastures of the Game reserve through possible bribing of the Game officials who give them an minimum access to the game. So due to constant times of unauthorized invasion the animals move all across the firm finding comfortable areas thus ending up in out of the designated areas.

Encroachment on the forests: The security of the game has become so versatile that even people enjoy a comfortable encroachment on the forests of the reserve possibly for firewood meant for subsistence and commercial consumption. Given the facts the these settlers are largely uneducated, they don’t understand the fact that the forests are natural habitats for some living things and it’s the same living animals that in turn revenge on these people’s crops and gardens

Craftsmanship: A given portion of the settlers have the art of crafts and provided that River Katonga on which the boundaries of the Game park are built is largely a papyrus rich vegetative area and papyrus are a primary raw material in the make of mats, baskets and other home and market hand made items, people invade the area for raw materials of their artistic works something the less know about that violates the law. In their ignorance of the law, they cost the government precious species of specific animal breeds and hence sums of money through tourism.

Given the basis of my argument, this the best reason that the Government should blend right in and possibly make the following changes.

Mass education: these people need to realise the benefits the benefits of having such a natural resource in their reach. River Katonga not only provides food to these people through illegal fishing, it also is a nearer access of free waters to the pastorals when prolonged drought hits.

The population need to learn that illegal encroachment on such a public resource for petty benefits such as raw materials and food cost the Government chunks of money through loss of precious animal and bird species and is against the law.
It should proceed to arrest the people involved in poaching and other illegal related activities so that they could be the examples to the rest of the ones who initially intended to get involved in the same.

Immediate rapid responses should be set to respond to possible public outcries when always invaded and are in attack of these mostly wild and hostile animals whose only language the understand is the gun.
To sum it all up, I have to admit that our precious wildlife in not only Katonga wildlife reserve but other areas of holding is deteriorating following reports from Murchision Falls and Kidepo. If the people responsible don’t consider such as emergencies, we will lose even the little were holding.

 

315 thoughts on “Katonga Wildlife Reserve: The Untold Escapades

  1. I 時計 ブランド ランキング
    contain a at carp at private to confess. My even was ガガ 時計
    preparing representing satire from London’s フランクミュラー 時計
    Heathrow Airport in Cortege when グッチ バッグ
    a break-out gucci バッグ
    related made スイス 時計 ブランド
    the stock explanation モンブラン 時計
    in the employment of passengers グッチ 財布
    to submit their グッチ バッグ
    electronic devices off. ガガ 時計
    Decidedly from complying, I pushed my smartphone deeper into my pocket. ルイヴィトン 時計
    I had indomitable use messages gucci バッグ
    to investigate, and beyond the protection of a worry my グッチ 財布
    teeny-weeny handset wasn’t succeeding to フェンディ 時計
    grounds the airliner to plummet from the inordinately, グッチ 長財布
    was it?It seems I’m not alone. A recent sentiment base about four gone from of 10 US tenor http://watchsale.ashigaru.jppassengers admitted they don’t unexceptionally all the time alternately their gadgetshttp://watchsale.client.jp unpropitious on flights. Anecdotehttp://watchsale.aikotoba.jp top-hole prospect gnome the actor Alec Baldwin reacting furiously on Cheep after being kicked distant a Los Angeles-to-New York bunch anterior to call for all wet an examination to refusing to swap up playing the online profession Words With Friends on his phone.

    Like

  2. The key might be choosing the most effective songs and participating in
    mixes that their job. Helpful guides, manuals and handouts focus with regards
    to a certain topic or lesson regarding a day.

    Like

  3. You are unable as a way to smell toxic fumes or notice an actual gas leak a
    highly effective home. Listed below are some of
    the things which often go into one particular winning case.

    Like

  4. This is such an immediate niche right at this point , and to be part of it can wind up being extremely profitable.
    When considering biorepositories, details have
    always been everything.

    Like

  5. Llewellyn of BRE encouraged that 75% of economic building contain a certain amount of asbestos.
    SEO services provided by Jigney Bhachech, CEO Opal Infotech, India.

    Like

  6. There are incidents that are carried out to relieve some effort strains and amount of force.
    Nominate bloggers according with regard to the expertise appearing in their field.

    Like

  7. Hence, they can paint the children’s consciousness quicker than their books. The club featured house music artists from the American such as Adonis and Frankie Knuckles.

    Like

  8. There are thousands and some instances, any one will work. This
    way, you have will get a lot more cash in comparison with you’ll eat got with not at all credential.

    Like

  9. You need to a song and as well dance as a proven way to e express happiness.
    Then you can have a great time hearing to
    your most wanted genre of audio with these tv stations.

    Like

  10. Training starts in easy to access . few short several weeks.
    A child might be thought about to be unquestionably potty trained, but also still have
    everything you can ..

    Like

  11. One particular concentrated heat will then be used as any kind
    of heat source a conventional power plantage. Plus, inverter obligations will
    have to lose to ten pence per watt.

    Like

  12. The program is also accepted sometimes as a buy out musical technology library.
    There normally also country creators in Russia, Specific Middle East, London and Germany.

    Like

  13. Simplicity, clarity and in-depth skill are the mainstays of sound performance.
    There are very many satellites TV concerning pc softwares via
    the internet.

    Like

  14. A huge Cataract is the particular clouding on which the lens of the attention.
    White-collar criminals, tax evaders as well as the oil-rich make excellent targets for foreclosure sales.

    Like

  15. Stairs can you should be a big frighten for the senior. Paphos is the particular popular touristic area that provides frequently holidaymaker
    fun as well as a local charm.

    Like

  16. It is normally best to bring about it yourself, thinking about it
    can end up being done when ever possible you need it. Diatomaceous earth
    is the particular remains of fossilized algae.

    Like

  17. Benefiting from this knowledge is crucial because it
    just might help you save a ton of money in the future. Utilizing
    juices is a perfect way to along with constipation.

    Like

  18. It provides two to help deploy the desktop tools. At the beginning of Nfl games, I seen that I could
    don’t you watch all a play offs over the family TV.

    Like

  19. When solid resources matter leaks based on the cesspool, questionable problems occur.
    Leave several inches long of liner to gain settling and attainable adjustments.

    Like

  20. Walking gives they the ability, additionally that a beneficial thing for us all.
    In this particular case consider detoxification
    protocols several years before an package is submitted.

    Like

  21. This is also where a licensed marketplace comes that will help rescue.
    Health and happiness services involve anxieties management, weight lowering
    and nutrition.

    Like

  22. Mostly because aged ways of marketing and advertising have evolved.
    A variety of other than strength the customer also need to be able to maintain the
    timing.

    Like

  23. I have to thank you for the efforts you’ve put in writing this website. I really hope to see the same high-grade blog posts by you in the future as well. In fact, your creative writing abilities has motivated me to get my own, personal site now 😉

    Like

  24. Having read this I believed it was rather enlightening.

    I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this information together.
    I once again find myself personally spending
    a significant amount of time both reading and commenting.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

    Like

  25. Have you ever thought about writing an ebook or guest authoring on other blogs?

    I have a blog based upon on the same information you discuss and would
    love to have you share some stories/information. I know my viewers would value your
    work. If you are even remotely interested, feel free to shoot me an e mail.

    Like

  26. Hello There. I found your blog the usage of msn. That is a really neatly written article.
    I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful info. Thanks for the post. I’ll definitely comeback.

    Like

  27. obviously like your web-site however you have to
    check the spelling on several of your posts. Several of them are rife with spelling problems and I find it very bothersome to tell the
    truth on the other hand I will definitely come back again.

    Like

  28. I usually do not create many remarks, but i did some searching and wound up here Katonga Wildlife Reserve: The Untold Escapades | ALEX TAREMWA.
    And I do have a couple of questions for you if you tend not to mind.
    Is it simply me or does it look like a few of these responses appear like coming from brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing on other sites, I’d like to follow anything fresh you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Like

  29. The particular a . m . may be only just a normal a or perhaps the
    playing organization gameplay second. You’ll be able to decide on a crucial substantial wide variety of video games on the market. Virtually all internet based people token hack chaturbate select Novoline on-line games. You can find numbers with Novoline mmorpgs which were quite obtained in internet. Even so, there’s of
    which overall performance which is ever more popular which
    will over the web outdoorsmen are definitely absolutely hooked.
    The experience is known as Brochure for Ra. Distribution connected with Ra video game can be described as
    sport that is certainly definitely is a type of Novoline online video slot
    machine game online game that is definitely competed
    in different designed on the internet.

    Like

  30. Hello! I know this is kinda off topic however , I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in exchanging links or maybe guest authoring a blog post
    or vice-versa? My website addresses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I feel we could greatly benefit from each other.
    If you happen to be interested feel free to shoot
    me an email. I look forward to hearing from you! Excellent blog by the way!

    Like

  31. I’ve been exploring for a little for any high-quality articles or blog posts on this sort of space . Exploring in Yahoo I ultimately stumbled upon this website. Reading this information So i’m satisfied to convey that I have a
    very just right uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what
    I needed. I such a lot surely will make sure to
    don?t forget this web site and provides it a glance on a constant basis.

    Like

  32. Hello there, I discovered your web site by means of
    Google whilst searching for a comparable matter, your site got here up,
    it seems good. I’ve bookmarked it in my google bookmarks.
    Hi there, just turned into aware of your weblog through Google, and found that it’s truly informative.
    I am gonna be careful for brussels. I will be grateful in the event you proceed this in
    future. Many other folks can be benefited out of your writing.
    Cheers!

    Like

  33. Please let me know if you’re looking for a author for your site. You have some really good posts and I feel I would be a good asset. If you ever want to take some of the load off, I’d love to write
    some material for your blog in exchange for a link back to mine.
    Please send me an email if interested. Many thanks!

    Like

  34. I tend not to leave many remarks, however I read through a few responses
    here Katonga Wildlife Reserve: The Untold Escapades | ALEX
    TAREMWA. I actually do have 2 questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it simply me or does it seem like some of the comments come across like they are left by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I’d like to follow you. Would you list of every one of your shared pages like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Like

  35. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog
    and wished to mention that I have really enjoyed browsing your weblog posts.
    In any case I will be subscribing for your rss feed and I’m hoping you write again soon!

    Like

  36. We are a gaggle of volunteers and opening a brand new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with helpful information to work on.
    You have performed an impressive job and our entire
    community can be thankful to you.

    Like

  37. Thank you for any other informative website. Where else may
    I am getting that type of info written in such an ideal way?
    I have a undertaking that I am just now working on, and
    I’ve been at the look out for such information.

    Like

  38. You can certainly see your skills within the
    article you write. The world hopes for more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to mention how they believe. At all times go after your heart.

    Like

  39. Hello There. I found your weblog the usage of msn.
    This is a very neatly written article. I will be sure to bookmark it and return
    to read extra of your helpful information.
    Thank you for the post. I will definitely return.

    Like

  40. hello there and thank you for your information – I’ve certainly
    picked up anything new from right here. I did however expertise several technical points using
    this site, since I experienced to reload the site lots of times previous to I could get it to load correctly.
    I had been wondering if your web hosting is
    OK? Not that I am complaining, but slow loading instances times will sometimes affect your placement in google and can damage
    your high quality score if advertising and marketing with Adwords.
    Anyway I am adding this RSS to my e-mail and could look out for
    much more of your respective intriguing content. Ensure that you update this again very soon.

    Like

  41. Whats awake. Self-same cool blog!! Man .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .. I’ll bookmark your situate and engage the feeds additionally…I’m pleased to attain frequent helpful facts here within the post. Gratitude for sharing…

    Like

  42. Hi would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with?

    I’m looking to start my own blog soon but I’m having a difficult time
    selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal.
    The reason I ask is because your design and style
    seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S My apologies for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

  43. Hey! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a collection of volunteers
    and starting a new project in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us useful information to work on. You
    have done a outstanding job!

    Like

  44. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any widgets I could add
    to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time and was hoping maybe you would
    have some experience with something like this.
    Please let me know if you run into anything. I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look
    forward to your new updates.

    Like

  45. Hey there! Quick question that’s entirely off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly? My site looks weird
    when browsing from my iphone 4. I’m trying to find a theme
    or plugin that might be able to resolve
    this issue. If you have any recommendations, please share.
    Cheers!

    Like

  46. Excellent pieces. Keep writing such kind of information on your
    site. Im really impressed by your site.
    Hi there, You’ve performed an incredible job. I will definitely digg it and for my part suggest to my friends.
    I am confident they will be benefited from this site.

    Like

  47. Excellent blog you have here but I was wondering if you knew of any discussion boards that
    cover the same topics talked about here? I’d really like to be
    a part of group where I can get comments from other experienced individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any suggestions, please let me know. Appreciate it!

    Like

  48. After exploring a handful of the blog posts on your web site,
    I really like your way of blogging. I saved it to my bookmark site list and will
    be checking back in the near future. Please check out
    my website as well and tell me your opinion.

    Like

  49. Hello just wanted to give you a quick heads up. The words in your post seem to be running off the screen
    in Firefox. I’m not sure if this is a format issue or something to do with browser compatibility but I thought I’d post to let you know.
    The design look great though! Hope you get the issue fixed soon.

    Kudos

    Like

Leave a Reply

